TIA-942 Site/Facilities Certification (DCCC)

Home / TIA-942 Site/Facilities Certification (DCCC)

tia-942 (dccc)

EPI - Enterprise Products Integration Pte Ltd | LinkedIn

The TIA-942 Facility Certification (DCCC) signifies the comprehensive physical evaluation of the data center facility within the designated scope, assessing its adherence to the TIA-942 standard's design criteria for the corresponding Rating level. This thorough evaluation encompasses a review of pertinent design documents and an on-site physical inspection of all areas covered by the TIA-942 standard.

The validity period for the TIA-942 Facility Certification spans three years. In the first and second years, the data center must undergo surveillance audits. Depending on any alterations made to the site since the initial certification audit, these surveillance audits could involve self-declarations, remote validations, or, in rare instances, on-site inspections. At the conclusion of the third year, a recertification audit becomes necessary to uphold the certification status of the data center.

EPI holds the distinction of being the world's pioneer and singular entity recognized as an official TIA-942 CAB under the official TIA-942 Accreditation Scheme by TIA. This recognition authorizes EPI to provide data center conformity audit services aligned with the TIA-942 standard. Furthermore, EPI holds the status of a Certification Body (CB).

About TIA-942

TIA-942 serves as the paramount standard for telecommunication infrastructure within data centers. However, its scope goes beyond telecommunications, encompassing critical factors that contribute to the resilience of a data center. The evaluation process for compliance involves four fundamental categories:

  1. Architecture (Including aspects like fire safety, physical security, and site location)
  2. Electrical Systems
  3. Mechanical Systems
  4. Telecommunications Infrastructure

Each of these categories encompasses a range of considerations that a data center undergoes to ensure adherence to the standard.

Rating Levels**

TIA-942 delineates four distinct rating levels in which data centers can be classified. The following summaries provide an overview of each rating level. For comprehensive details, reference should be made to the TIA-942 standard.

Rated-1: Fundamental Site Infrastructure This level corresponds to a data center featuring singular capacity components and a sole, non-redundant distribution path that serves the ICT (Information and Communications Technology) equipment. While offering limited protection against physical incidents, this level forms the basic infrastructure.

Rated-2: Redundant Capacity Component Site Infrastructure At this level, the data center incorporates redundant capacity components along with a single, non-redundant distribution path serving the ICT equipment. The enhancement in protection against physical events characterizes this rating.

Rated-3: Simultaneously Maintainable Site Infrastructure A data center qualifying for this rating boasts multiple independent distribution paths that cater to the ICT equipment. While it's permissible for one distribution path to serve the equipment while the other remains on standby for maintenance, the standard practice is to utilize both paths concurrently. The concurrent maintainability aspect signifies that all capacity components, including elements within the distribution path, can be replaced, serviced, or removed without disrupting ICT capabilities for end-users. This level provides safeguarding against most physical incidents.

Rated-4: Fault-Tolerant Site Infrastructure The highest rating level involves a data center with numerous independent active distribution paths for the ICT equipment. This architecture permits concurrent maintainability and is resilient enough to withstand a single fault anywhere in the setup without causing downtime. The data center is equipped to autonomously detect and isolate faults while continuing operations. It offers protection against nearly all physical events.

**Note: The classification outcomes prescribed by TIA align closely with those of the Uptime Tier levels. For instance, both TIA's Rated-3 and Uptime's Tier-III denote Concurrently Maintainable data centers.


Need Help? Chat with Us on WhatsApp