ISO/IEC 22237 Site/Facilities Certification (DCCC)

Home / ISO/IEC 22237 Site/Facilities Certification (DCCC)

ISO/IEC 22237 (DCCC)

EPI - Enterprise Products Integration Pte Ltd | LinkedIn

The ISO/IEC 22237 Facility Certification (DCCC) signifies a thorough physical examination of the data center facility within the specified scope, aimed at ensuring compliance with the design criteria outlined by the ISO/IEC 22237 standard corresponding to the respective Class level.

This meticulous on-site assessment encompasses both a comprehensive evaluation of all pertinent design documents and a physical inspection of each designated area covered by the ISO/IEC 22237 standard.

The ISO/IEC 22237 Facility Certification remains valid for a duration of three years. During the first and second years, the data center undergoes surveillance audits. These audits, contingent upon any potential site modifications since the official certification audit, can involve self-declaration, remote validation, or, in exceedingly rare instances, on-site inspections. By the conclusion of the third year, a recertification audit is mandated to sustain the data center's certification status.

EPI's distinguished expertise positions it effectively for conducting ISO/IEC 22237 data center audits, drawing upon over three decades of specialization in delivering data center services. EPI holds the esteemed status of a Registered Certification Body (RCB) and has garnered accreditation from diverse renowned accreditation bodies, including SAC, APMG, and CERTAC.

About ISO/IEC 22237

The ISO/IEC 22237 standard is a comprehensive European framework that establishes precise specifications for the strategic planning, construction, and operation of data centers. As an integral component of the DCCC audit process, the data center undergoes a comprehensive assessment to ensure alignment with the specific categories delineated within the ISO/IEC 22237 Standard:

  1. ISO/IEC 22237-2: Building Construction
  2. ISO/IEC 22237-3: Power Distribution
  3. ISO/IEC 22237-4: Environmental Control
  4. ISO/IEC 22237-5: Telecommunications Cabling Infrastructure
  5. ISO/IEC 22237-6: Security Systems

Criteria within ISO/IEC 22237-2 to ISO/IEC 22237-5 result in the allocation of an Availability Class Rating for the data center, accompanied by an overarching rating for the entire data center (1-4). The criteria detailed in ISO/IEC 22237-6 lead to the assignment of a Protection Class rating (1-4) for the data center.

Availability Class Ratings**

ISO/IEC 22237 introduces four availability classes that define the classification of data centers. The subsequent descriptions provide succinct summaries of each rating level:

  1. Availability Class-1: Basic Site Infrastructure Encompassing a data center with singular capacity components and a solitary, non-redundant distribution path serving ICT equipment.
  2. Availability Class-2: Redundant Capacity Component Site Infrastructure Characterizing a data center equipped with redundant capacity components alongside a single, non-redundant distribution path for ICT equipment.
  3. Availability Class-3: Concurrently Maintainable Site Infrastructure Defining a data center featuring multiple independent distribution paths serving ICT equipment. While a single distribution path serving the ICT equipment is deemed acceptable, the standard practice involves continuous use of both paths. This class necessitates concurrent maintainability, enabling planned removal, replacement, or servicing of all capacity components, including path-related elements, without disrupting end-user ICT capabilities.
  4. Availability Class-4: Fault Tolerant Site Infrastructure Outlining a data center incorporating multiple independent active distribution paths for ICT equipment. This class facilitates concurrent maintainability and is equipped to withstand a single fault without causing downtime. The data center must automatically identify, isolate, and maintain operation following the detection of a fault.

**For a comprehensive understanding, consult the ISO/IEC 22237 Standard.

Protection Class Ratings**

ISO/IEC 22237 introduces four protection classes for the classification of various areas within the data center. Notably, the protection class rating of the staging area may differ from that of the computer room. Presented succinctly are the attributes of each rating level against which assessments are conducted for the computer room area(s):

  1. Protection Class-1: Denoting an area that is public or semi-public, devoid of specialized protection against internal fire or mitigation for environmental events.
  2. Protection Class-2: Designating an area accessible solely to authorized individuals, equipped with fire detection, suppression, and environmental incident mitigation.
  3. Protection Class-3: Reserved exclusively for specified individuals, requiring others to be accompanied by a designated individual. The area features fire detection, suppression, and environmental event mitigation.
  4. Protection Class-4: Restricted to designated employees, with accompanying individuals required. The area is equipped with fire detection, suppression, and environmental safeguards.

**For comprehensive details, refer to the ISO/IEC 22237 Standard.


Need Help? Chat with Us on WhatsApp