ISO/IEC 22237 Design Certification (DCDV)

Home / ISO/IEC 22237 Design Certification (DCDV)

ISO/IEC 22237 (DCDV)

EPI - Enterprise Products Integration Pte Ltd | LinkedIn

The ISO/IEC 22237 Design Certification (DCDV) signifies that the design documents of the data center within the specified scope have undergone comprehensive review to ensure conformity with the design criteria set forth in the EN-50600 standard for the corresponding Class level.

The validity period of the ISO/IEC 22237 Design Certification spans one year, with the option of extension if the site has not yet become operational.

EPI is distinctly equipped to conduct audits for ISO/IEC 22237 data centers, leveraging over three decades of specialized experience in delivering data center services. EPI operates as a Registered Certification Body (RCB) and holds accreditation from diverse respected accreditation bodies such as SAC, APMG, and CERTAC.

About ISO/IEC 22237

The ISO/IEC 22237 standard is a comprehensive European framework that establishes precise specifications for the strategic planning, construction, and operation of data centers. As an integral component of the DCCC audit process, the data center undergoes a comprehensive assessment to ensure alignment with the specific categories delineated within the ISO/IEC 22237 Standard:

  1. ISO/IEC 22237-2: Building Construction
  2. ISO/IEC 22237-3: Power Distribution
  3. ISO/IEC 22237-4: Environmental Control
  4. ISO/IEC 22237-5: Telecommunications Cabling Infrastructure
  5. ISO/IEC 22237-6: Security Systems

Criteria within ISO/IEC 22237-2 to ISO/IEC 22237-5 result in the allocation of an Availability Class Rating for the data center, accompanied by an overarching rating for the entire data center (1-4). The criteria detailed in ISO/IEC 22237-6 lead to the assignment of a Protection Class rating (1-4) for the data center.

Availability Class Ratings**

ISO/IEC 22237 introduces four availability classes that define the classification of data centers. The subsequent descriptions provide succinct summaries of each rating level:

  1. Availability Class-1: Basic Site Infrastructure Encompassing a data center with singular capacity components and a solitary, non-redundant distribution path serving ICT equipment.
  2. Availability Class-2: Redundant Capacity Component Site Infrastructure Characterizing a data center equipped with redundant capacity components alongside a single, non-redundant distribution path for ICT equipment.
  3. Availability Class-3: Concurrently Maintainable Site Infrastructure Defining a data center featuring multiple independent distribution paths serving ICT equipment. While a single distribution path serving the ICT equipment is deemed acceptable, the standard practice involves continuous use of both paths. This class necessitates concurrent maintainability, enabling planned removal, replacement, or servicing of all capacity components, including path-related elements, without disrupting end-user ICT capabilities.
  4. Availability Class-4: Fault Tolerant Site Infrastructure Outlining a data center incorporating multiple independent active distribution paths for ICT equipment. This class facilitates concurrent maintainability and is equipped to withstand a single fault without causing downtime. The data center must automatically identify, isolate, and maintain operation following the detection of a fault.

**For a comprehensive understanding, consult the ISO/IEC 22237 Standard.

Protection Class Ratings**

ISO/IEC 22237 introduces four protection classes for the classification of various areas within the data center. Notably, the protection class rating of the staging area may differ from that of the computer room. Presented succinctly are the attributes of each rating level against which assessments are conducted for the computer room area(s):

  1. Protection Class-1: Denoting an area that is public or semi-public, devoid of specialized protection against internal fire or mitigation for environmental events.
  2. Protection Class-2: Designating an area accessible solely to authorized individuals, equipped with fire detection, suppression, and environmental incident mitigation.
  3. Protection Class-3: Reserved exclusively for specified individuals, requiring others to be accompanied by a designated individual. The area features fire detection, suppression, and environmental event mitigation.
  4. Protection Class-4: Restricted to designated employees, with accompanying individuals required. The area is equipped with fire detection, suppression, and environmental safeguards.

**For comprehensive details, refer to the ISO/IEC 22237 Standard.


Need Help? Chat with Us on WhatsApp